song of the day – “I Palindrome I” | THEY MIGHT BE GIANTS | 1992.

Today, February 2, 2020, is not only Groundhog Day and Super Bowl Sunday here in America, today, everywhere around the globe, has been 02/02/2020 — the first global palindrome day in 909 years. 

Today’s date is a palindrome, which reads the same forwards and backwards — 02/02/2020.  So, naturally, I couldn’t resist going outside of the 80s for a blog post, inspired by Brooklyn’s self-proclaimed Ambassadors Of Love, They Might Be Giants, and their song, “I Palindrome I.”

flood 30

The (rightfully so) sold-out 2020 tour celebrating the 30th anniversary of FLOOD.

They Might Be Giants (John Linnell and John Flansburgh) formed in 1982, and they are currently celebrating the 30th anniversary of their breakthrough album (and major label debut), FLOOD.  They continue their 30-date, sold-out FLOOD 30th anniversary tour on 02/06/2020 in New Haven, Connecticut, with the tour running (at least) through mid-May 2020.  “I Palindrome I” is from FLOOD’s acclaimed follow-up album, 1992’s APOLLO 18.

Apollo18

For the documentary, GIGANTIC: A TALE OF TWO JOHNS, actor / comedian / musician Michael McKean recited the lyrics of “I Palindrome I.”  John and John performed the song on LATE NIGHT WITH DAVID LETTERMAN (where they originally got their television debut) in 1992, while supporting APOLLO 18.  In a review for the Boston Phoenix, Karen Schlosberg wrote, “the lyrics of ‘I Palindrome I’ sound like ‘Edgar Allan Poe and David Lynch meeting the Monkees,’ creating an ‘unlikely sing-along hook’.”  High praise indeed (and so true)!

hqdefault

They Might Be Giants (John Linnel and John Flansburgh) performing “I Palindrome I” on LATE NIGHT WITH DAVID LETTERMAN, 1992.

To get even nerdier about this whole thing, February 2, 2020 is also the 33rd day of the year, with 333 days left in the year.  If you’re a big fan of today’s palindrome date, enjoy it now, because the next time a palindrome date happens, it will be 101 years from now, on 12/12/2121.  And, after that, you’d have to wait until 03/03/3030.  I don’t know anyone who is waiting for that.

TMBG IPI

The CD single cover art for “I Palindrome I.”

For now, you don’t have to wait 101 years to enjoy this fun 2-minute, 20-second gem from one of my all-time favorite acts.  02:20?  I see what they did there…

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I7not2z4-oo

tmbg

They Might Be Giants (the incredibly gifted and fun John Flansburgh and John Linnell).

Leave a comment