xmas song of the day – “All I Want For Christmas” | TIMBUK 3 | 1987.

Happy Holidays!  Since it’s the first year of my blog, and since it’s the last year for my Annual Holiday Show on my little 20-year-old 80s radio program, STUCK IN THE 80s (on WMPG community radio in Portland, Maine), I wanted to present to you THE 31 DAYS OF 80s XMAS SONGS, or, 31 of my favorite 80s holiday musical treats.

stuck-holiday-show-promo-art

just-in-time-4-xmasThe song for Day 11 of the 31 DAYS OF 80s XMAS SONGS is a brilliant 1987 non-trad Xmas offering from an album of mostly non-trad Xmas offerings, the 1990 I.R.S. Records holiday compilation, JUST IN TIME FOR CHRISTMAS – “All I Want For Christmas” by Timbuk 3.

Pat and Barbara McDonald were inbetween their 1986 debut album, GREETINGS FROM TIMBUK 3, and their second album, 1988’s EDEN ALLEY, when they released one of my all-time favorite songs for this time of year.  It’s also doubling as an anti-war song: “It looks to me like World War III / Underneath the Christmas tree / Please dear Santa, Mr. Santa please / Can’t you make the firing cease?”

all-i-want-for-xmas“All I Want For Christmas” has made it onto a number of Xmas compilations over the years, including Rhino’s wonderful JUST CAN’T GET ENOUGH: NEW WAVE XMAS.  It may not have been as well-received as their popular Top 20 hit, “The Future’s So Bright, I Gotta Wear Shades,” from a year earlier, but I’ve always admired Pat and Barbara McDonald for following in the footsteps of folks like John Lennon, for advocating world peace through a holiday song.

“All I want for Christmas is world peace…”  Truth be told, world peace is a gift I ask for every Xmas, and birthdays, and, well, every day.  That continues to be at the top of my wish list…

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kcZA80c_c-4

timbuk-3-1987

Leave a Reply

