song of the day – “You Make Me Feel So Good” | BOOK OF LOVE | 1986.

fall-2016-beg-poster

One of the first things I learned about WMPG community radio in Portland, Maine when I started my little 80s radio program, STUCK IN THE 80s, there in 1996 was the Begathon.  WMPG gets approximately 1/3 of its funding from the University of Southern Maine, approximately 1/3 from underwriting, and approximately 1/3 from listener donations.  A large chunk of the latter comes from the Begathon.  What started out as a 2-week pledge drive in which volunteer radio hosts would “beg” to raise money for the station is now split up into two 1-week pledge drives, one in the Spring and one in the Fall.  It’s come a long way since my first Begathon in the Fall of 1996.  My very last Begathon for WMPG will be today, Sunday, 9.25.2016.

book of love

The New York (and later Philadelphia) Synthpop band Book Of Love has been a favorite on STUCK IN THE 80s since the show’s 1996 inception, ten years after the release of their self-titled debut album, and I couldn’t imagine my last Begathon show on WMPG without them. 

book of love LP

The third single released from that album was “You Make Me Feel So Good,” written by vocalist Susan Ottaviano and keyboardist and them some, Ted Ottaviano (interestingly enough, despite their last names, they are not related).

“You Make Me Feel So Good” wasn’t a hit anywhere, though it did reach No. 23 on BILLBOARD’s Dance Sales chart.  It was always a hit with me, and I appreciated that Ted Ottaviano played the melodica (otherwise known as a “hooter,” the namesake of their fellow Philadelphians, The Hooters) on this song.

you-make-me-feel-so-goodI could easily dedicate their own song to Book of Love, because their music has always made me feel so good, but today (as I will during the show tonight) will dedicate this song to my listeners, my fans, my friends and family, people who have called up or e-mailed requests week after week, or don’t feel they have to call but tune in faithfully, and to everyone who has pledged money during STUCK IN THE 80s over the past 20 years to help keep WMPG community radio going, as well my fellow MPGers (some of them donors as well), and my two amazing regular guest hosts and dear friends, Hope and Shawn.  I’m forever grateful and I thank and love you all.  YOU make me feel so good!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0TgX7k5bId0

book-of-love

Leave a Reply

