(real) one-hit wonder of the week – “Money (That’s What I Want)” | THE FLYING LIZARDS | 1980.

One of the first things I learned about WMPG community radio in Portland, Maine when I started my little 80s radio program, STUCK IN THE 80s, there in 1996 was the Begathon.  WMPG gets approximately 1/3 of its funding from the University of Southern Maine, approximately 1/3 from underwriting, and approximately 1/3 from listener donations.  A large chunk of the latter comes from the Begathon.  What started out as a 2-week pledge drive in which volunteer radio hosts would “beg” to raise money for the station is now split up into two 1-week pledge drives, one in the Spring and one in the Fall.  It’s come a long way since my first Begathon in the Fall of 1996.  My very last Begathon for WMPG will be on Sunday, 9.25.2016.

fall-2016-beg-poster

Between late 1979 and the end of 1989, there were nearly 500 (real) one-hit wonders of the 80s that reached the BILLBOARD Hot 100 just one time, a list that includes Soft Cell, Gary Numan, Timbuk 3, The Church, Bronski Beat, Nik Kershaw, The Buggles, The Waitresses, Ultravox and two different bands named The Silencers.  Once a week, I’ll highlight a (real) one-hit wonder for you.

When I was preparing this post last night, I chose “Money (That’s What I Want)” by The Flying Lizards as the “(real) one-hit wonder of the week,” not realizing I had already highlighted it as a “song of the day” the week of the March Begathon pledge drive.  So, I deleted the post I was putting together last night, and instead, I will re-post the last four paragraphs of the original post – not as a “song of the day,” but as a (real) one-hit wonder of the 80s.  I don’t think folks will mind.  It’s such a great song, and one more time, I’ll be proud to play “Money” to start a Begathon show on STUCK IN THE 80s…

flying-lizards-lp

“Money (That’s What I Want)” was originally a 1959 hit for Barrett Strong, co-written by Motown Records founder Barry Gordy and covered by The Beatles in 1963.

moneyThe Flying Lizards’ 1979 New Wave cover of “Money” was a Top 10 hit in Canada, New Zealand, and their U.K. homeland, plus it reached the Top 40 in five other countries.  Here in the U.S., “Money” spent a week at No. 50 on the BILLBOARD Hot 100 in January 1980, and reached No. 22 on the BILLBOARD Dance chart.

For me, in addition to being a cool cover song, The Flying Lizards’ version of “Money (That’s What I Want)” has been a part of STUCK IN THE 80s for a long time.  And, if it helps raise some money to support the radio station I’ve called a second home for 20 years, then yeah, that’s what I want…

If you’re interested in learning more about WMPG community radio, go to WMPG.org, and if you’re interested in supporting WMPG, you can make a safe donation online via PayPal, with my thanks.  Tell them Ron sent you!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E-P2qL3qkzk

the flying lizards

Leave a Reply

