song of the day – “Time (Clock Of The Heart)” | CULTURE CLUB | 1983.

Well, today marks 2 anniversaries – it’s been six months since I started the little bloggy thing here, which means it’s been six months since I learned of the sad passing of David Bowie.  I’m still not quite over it, you know.  But, while in NYC a few months ago, I had a permanent tribute to Mr. Bowie put on my right shoulder, my first ever tattoo.

As for the other anniversary today, it’s been 13 years since I lost my dog Oscar, a Chow/Retriever mix.  He was beautiful, absolutely hated the music of PJ Harvey, and he was the only dog I ever knew who demanded, er, requested to be toweled off when he was wet.  I would be standing up, towel in hand, he’d bury his face in my legs and I’d towel him off.  And he used to love to travel.  He got to see the Grand Canyon before I did, and was prolly been in more states than yours truly has ever been to.  I know he would have never lived to be 25, but I miss him and I love him every day…

Oscar Higgins Beach

My Oscar, Higgins Beach, Scarborough, ME, October 1998.

But, I think it’s fair to say that both Oscar and David Bowie would rather have me continue with a regular blog post than pay tribute to them again, so here we go…

Culture Club is prolly best known for their No. 2 debut hit, “Do You Really Want To Hurt Me?” and their lone No. 1 hit in America, “Karma Chameleon.”  But, surprisingly, I think many folks forget they had another No. 2 hit here in the U.S., and it was the follow-up to “Do You Really Want To Hurt Me?” – “Time (Clock Of The Heart).” 

time

“Time” was released in North America as the second single from Culture Club’s 1982 debut album, KISSING TO BE CLEVER, though oddly enough, “Time” wasn’t on the initial version of the album in the U.K. and Europe, and was released as a stand-alone single.

Back here in America, “Do You Really Want To Hurt Me?” was still in the Top 10 of the BILLBOARD Hot 100 when “Time” made its debut on the chart in April 1983, and might have had a shot at reaching No. 1 had it not been for Irene Cara’s monster hit, “Flashdance…What A Feeling.”  “Time” spent 2 weeks at No. 2 in late June 1983.

kissing to be cleverAround the globe, “Time” could have been so much more, and was – it reached the Top 10 in at least seven other countries, including a U.K. pop singles chart peak of No. 3.

In a 2013 “retrospective review” of the song, Allmusic journalist Stewart Mason had this to say: “Of all of Culture Club’s early hits, ‘Time (Clock of the Heart)’ has probably aged the best.  Boy George drops the cryptic self-mythology long enough to deliver a tender, heartfelt lyric on lost love.”

Back in May 2016, my dear and über-talented friend, Hope, and I saw Boy George perform in Boston (on the same bill as Cyndi Lauper), and he had at least 12-15 other people with him on the stage, from backup singers to a horn section to two drummers.  And he was fantastic.  He was himself, he was funny, he was happy and very much in his element that night. 

boy george wang theatre 5.21.16

Boy George, Wang Theatre, Boston, MA 5.21.2016.

Though Boy George didn’t sing “Time” that particular night, he did do covers of “Funtime” and “The Jean Genie,” as well as covers of “Bang A Gong (Get It On)” and “Imagine,” the latter two with Cyndi Lauper.  Sensational.

Sensational is not a word I would use to describe “Time (Clock Of The Heart),” but lovely would be.  And yes, it has aged well.  And, much like Oscar and Mr. Bowie, “Time” has been good for my heart…

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8tI1_KlO6xI

67d7dd3882a8487a3f9a34cf5bea642d

Leave a Reply

