(real) one-hit wonder of the week – “Hold Me” | COLIN JAMES HAY | 1987.

Between late 1979 and the end of 1989, there were nearly 500 (real) one-hit wonders of the 80s that reached the BILLBOARD Hot 100 just one time, a list that includes Soft Cell, Gary Numan, Timbuk 3, The Church, Bronski Beat, Nik Kershaw, The Buggles, The Waitresses, Ultravox and two different bands named The Silencers.  Once a week, I’ll highlight a (real) one-hit wonder for you.

Men At Work’s Colin Hay returns to Maine tonight (4.21.2016), and I am highly anticipating his return to the Pine Tree State.  After seeing him perform in 2008 and this week in 2011, an amazing performance won’t be a surprise to me.  I’ve loved his work since Men At Work’s BUSINESS AS USUAL album was released 35 years ago.

looking for jackOddly enough, despite all of Colin Hay’s success with Men At Work, his solo efforts and part-time acting, he had just one solo hit on the BILLBOARD Hot 100.  “Hold Me,” from Colin’s debut album, LOOKING FOR JACK, spent a lone week at No. 99 in early March 1987.

What may surprise some people (though not me) is that, since 1987, Colin Hay has put out 12 solo albums (the most recent is 2015’s NEXT YEAR PEOPLE), and for many years, he has built up an incredible reputation for his solo performances in support of these albums, to much deserved praise and often selling out shows. 

One of the reasons I love seeing Colin Hay perform is because he’s truly in his element, and you can tell he really loves what he does.  I enjoy listening to “Hold Me,” but when I hear some of his other solo songs, like 1998’s “My Brilliant Feat,” the 2001 version of “Waiting For My Real Life To Begin” (a theme song of mine for awhile) or 2011’s “Send Somebody,” I can’t help but think of how amazing his work has evolved over the years.  And while I’m no longer “waiting for my real life to begin,” I look forward to seeing Colin Hay perform for the third time tonight with old songs and new and then some…

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OEc7868QlYA

colin hay

Leave a Reply

