song of the day – “Three Little Birds” | BOB MARLEY & THE WAILERS | 1977 / 1980.

15 years ago this year, I survived a pituitary tumor.  It wasn’t cancerous, but it was bordering my optic nerve, and had it not been (mostly) removed when it was (8.30.2000), I would have been blind.  After the brain surgery, the tumor grew back to its original size, and between Memorial Day and Independence Day 2001, I had 5 weeks of radiation, which eventually shrunk the tumor over time.    

A few weeks ago, I had my first MRI in 7 years, and the good news is that the size of the tumor is still what it was in 2009 – practically nothing.  The drawback of having a pituitary tumor – even a benign one – is that it killed my adrenaline, my thyroid and my testosterone; I’m on medication for the rest of my life, and every day – every day for almost 15 years – is a struggle to get up, and some days are easier than others.  But I do get up, I’m writing every day, and I’m much healthier overall than I was 15 years ago.

three little birdsThis morning, I woke up feeling anxious for reasons I still don’t understand.  I can’t remember the last time I felt so anxious for no reason.  Luckily, any anxious feelings I had this morning have subsided, though feeling anxious did inspire three little words from the late, great Bob Marley: “Three Little Birds.”

“Three Little Birds” is my favorite song by Bob Marley & The Wailers, and it appears on the 1977 album EXODUS.  It was released as a single in September 1980, and reached No. 17 on the U.K. singles chart.

Hard to believe that Bob’s been gone nearly 35 years, but his legacy lives on, and his LEGEND album remains the biggest-selling Reggae album of all-time, and has sold over 25 million copies worldwide, 15 million of which have been sold in the U.S. alone.  I should know – I’m one of those 15 million who still own a vinyl copy.

legend

I thought about the lyrics of “Three Little Birds” today, not just for myself and whatever anxiety I was feeling this morning, but also in regards to the terror attacks in Brussels yesterday. 

I think if Bob Marley was alive today, the anger, violence and negativity of ISIS and other dark forces around the globe wouldn’t stand a chance against Bob’s message of love, faith, peace and that “every little thing is gonna be alright…

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PGYAAsHT4QE

bob marley

Leave a Reply

