song of the day – “Catch Me I’m Falling” | REAL LIFE | 1984.

One of the cool things about having a blog and writing about something I love – 80s music, in this case, is that songs I’ve loved for a long time but occasionally forget about come rushing back.  One of those songs “jumped the queue” today in my head and I just had to highlight it as my song of the day.

The Melbourne, Australia band Real Life is primarily known for one hit here in the U.S. and other parts of the globe – “Send Me An Angel.”  In its 1983 and 1989 incarnations, “Send Me An Angel” was not a big American Top 40 hit, reaching No. 29 on the BILLBOARD Hot 100 in February 1984, while its reworked 1989 counterpart charted a bit higher, peaking at No. 26 in July of that year. 

catch me i'm fallingSandwiched inbetween the two versions of “Send Me An Angel” is the simple and lovely dance-pop song about living out your dreams, “Catch Me I’m Falling” (from their 1983 debut album, HEARTLAND).  It was a Top 10 hit in Australia and Germany, and spent a lone week in the BILLBOARD Hot 100’s Top 40 (at No. 40) in May 1984, and soon faded from American radio stations kind enough to play it in the first place.  But it never faded with me.  I’m especially fond of the 12” single remix, and I’ve attached a link to that version’s video here for you to revisit (I hope you do…):

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=90B2EJD1QZg

Leave a Reply

